Remove/deleting images

Top  Previous  Next

 

You can remove one or more images from a collection by selecting the image thumbnails in the Collection Viewer, and then either pressing [Del] or right clicking on a selected thumbnail and selecting “Remove selected images” from the context menu. IDimager will then ask for a confirmation.

 

_img10

 

 

The Remove confirmation dialog offers you some choices about which operation should take place. Depending on the type of collection that you were in, or the state of the image itself (existing or missing), when you pressed the [Del] key, the options may differ in this dialog. However, the sample above contains all possible options.

 

Remove from collection "xxxxx"

The name of the collection will be displayed instead of the x-es.

 

This option is available when you press [Del] for images in a collection that is derived from either a catalog label, a rating, color label, a portfolio collection, a virtual collection, or a fast collection.

 

Use this option to remove the image from that collection.

 

In case of a Catalog Label collection, this means that that catalog label will be unassigned for the selected images. A rating collection will reset the rating to "none".  A color label collection will clear the color label. A portfolio collection, a virtual, and a  fast collection will remove the images from the collection itself.

 

Remove from database but leave on disk

Use this option to completely remove the selected images from the catalog database. The image file as stored "on disk" will remain untouched.

 

 

Delete from disk and database

Use this option to completely remove the selected images from the catalog database and also delete the image from the file system (if possible).

 

When you delete images from disk then, by default, IDimager will put them in the Windows Recycle Bin. That way you can always recover the deleted images or flush the Recycle Bin once you are sure you no longer need the image. You can disable this setting in the options dialog (Tools | Options | General Settings -> Deleted images go to the Windows Recycle Bin), but it is recommended to keep this option switched on.

 

One caveat in this respect is that Windows does not send deleted images to the recycle bin when these images are stored on a network drive. When you access images from a network share, please be aware of this behaviour by Windows.

 

Cancel

Don't make any changes